Minimalism: How It’s Helping My Recovery

weightless
Image: Google Images

Everyone has heard the term “minimalism”, perhaps you might even have a friend who leads a minimalist life. Your interest might be piqued by the subject, but maybe you don’t quite understand the purpose or reasoning behind it. It’s ok, neither did I, until recently.

About six months ago, I watched a documentary on minimalism and I began to understand the correlation between my chaotic thought pattern and the accumulation of possessions I seemed to have. My home was a collection of objects. Most of which did not serve a purpose in my everyday life. It wasn’t until my recent move, and full scale commitment to my recovery from Ed, that I decided it was time to let go and rid myself of unnecessary ‘things’.

After hours of sorting and piling up items, I came up for air and was surprised at just how much lighter I felt. Both emotionally and spiritually. For me, it seemed like all of the items I had accumulated were not only taking up space in my home, but they were also living rent free in my mind. I’ve heard people say that a clutter free home leads to a clutter free mind, but I hadn’t put the thought into practice. Until now.

How liberating it was to free myself of objects that served no purpose for me. Now don’t get me wrong, I didn’t completely rid myself of all my possessions, but I did do my share of absolving myself from the weight of this ‘stuff’. As I let go of these items, I felt as if a huge weight was being lifted off my chest. It was a spiritual experience for me and I knew, it had to be done in order to move forward in freeing myself from Ed.

So how did I go about this process? And how can you implement some of these ideas into your own life? Start by choosing a room or area of your home and creating 4 piles.

  • One: things to keep.
  • Two: items to sell. Things that are in good condition and can sold close to retail value.
  • Three: donation items. Perhaps they’re used or worn, but can still serve a purpose for others.
  • Four: undecided pile. Put these items in storage for a certain amount of time, (1-2 months), if you haven’t used them or gone into storage for them after said amount of time, let them go.

For me, the goal was clear; if the item did not serve an every day purpose, there was no need to keep it. Easier said than done I know. As human beings, objects can hold sentimental value for us. For me though, I wanted to try my best to let go of any emotional attachment I had to a physical possession. For you, it might be different.

The key here, is to make minimalism work for you. There’s no right or wrong way to declutter your life. If a figurine brings back happy memories, and you just can’t seem to let it go, that’s ok. If it serves a purpose for you, keep it around, for the time being. But give it a try, because at the end of the day, aside from a clutter free home, what have you got to lose?

 

Leave a Reply

